Get Social

Branded?

Posted on: April 19, 2011

“Please do not take offense, but you haven’t branded yourself.”

This is an actual quotation from a perspective client email. A start up man himself, I should have known something like this was coming after an 8 pm conference call that same evening in which he asked , “So, do you have an LLC or what?”(The answer is yes, by the way, we’ve formed Local Social as an LLC.)  But enough overt ranting. What I wanted to address here is 1)what components of our business are branded and 2) explain why I’m not overly concerned with overtly branding our type of venture yet .

I can’t help but think of the etymology of the verb “to brand,” and documentary footage of livestock being stamped with an insignia or marker number comes to mind. Obviously, branding in a business marketing sense is more fluid; companies can reinvent their images as core products change, market demands fluctuate, or new management comes on  board. Still, I’m being very deliberate– and  likely all too meta– about how to brand Local Social. First, we started with some key words and phrases that came to mind:

* boutique, smart, content, writers, marketing, social, social media, restaurants, promotions, daily deals, media, PR, consultant, young, hip, in-the-know, savvy, media, bold, experimental, grounded, technical, sales, growth*

I could name more, but I’ll stop there. There are core competencies and value adds we bring to the table. We’re smart and versatile across a variety of tools, networks, and industries.

I’ve given myself an informative email signature that shares Local Social’s relevant presence on the web(see this post for the visual). I’ve given myself the title of “Socialite,” a fancy way of saying “brand manager.” I’ve written a kit that bundles our services with pricing that has a clear, branded tone, incorporating the keywords listed above.

I stressed to this person and others that we haven’t “gone 100% public” with our branding. You can follow us on Twitter, but I don’t seek out new handles to follow and don’t target potential clients through that channel at this time. We’re merely a presence that shares useful articles I find around the web and posts links to this blog. When I gain a new follower from these efforts, I follow back. It’s all very organic. This blog, I  hope, brands us. And yes, I’ve changed the template three times. And we do not yet have a logo. And we don’t have a website, but we have the domain, so we have professional email accounts. And, if anyone’s skeptical about us after viewing some client work and our kit and isn’t convinced,  share my resume as more collateral to speak to my experience.

And not only am I justifying here that I have begun to brand Local Social, but that it’s not all 100% necessary at the very beginning. We’re thankful to the awesome clients we have who believe in us, and to anyone reading my ramblings as we develop our idea into that scary five-letter word.

Leave a Reply

